best synth for the total beginner

Page:  1 2 3 4 5 >

09/08/08 5:27 PM

Hi all. I'm interested in buying my first synth this year, maybe by christmas. I'm after something with a built-in keyboard and smaller than a fullsize ideally (i.e. not 88 key) so I can use it more easily with my existing desk, PC, flat, etc. I will be using it in conjunction with PCs and possibly an aged mac, but I would like some standalone operation if possible.

I'm wanting to shortlist potential synths to use. The microkorg is currently the only thing on my list: I think I'd buy it second hand and my budget is up to about 200GBP with 100-150 being my preferred figure (I am a total beginner, after all). I'm a little concerned by the size of the keys: I do need it semi-portable but I do have big hands smiling smiley I listened to some youtube comparisons of the Korg to the minimoog, and I preferred the Korg's tone in all but the bass lines (I do not think I can afford a minimoog though so that's fairly moot).

Any advice is greatly appreciated. How important would trying out the synth in question be? It seems there arent' as many music shops around as there used to be!

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 09/08/2008 04:28PM by jmtd.

09/08/08 6:46 PM

Get a microkorg. Especially if your on a budget. Plus you also get a cool vocoder. I'm more and more impressed with mine the more I use it. It's got narly distortion which your gonna want for super SICK basslines. I got mine second hand for $300. If you get deep into it and the small keys do prove to be a problem, you can always hook it up to an inexpensive midi controller later.

IMO people that trash the microkorg fit into one of two demographics.

1> They are the type that prefer presets

or

2> They don't understand synthesis enough to design their own patches.

The microkorg is sick for such a small package.

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 09/18/2008 10:37AM by Observer.

09/08/08 6:52 PM